Making time for me

Hello my wonderful readers, today I thought I’d write about something a little different. As you know I’ve had a fairly hectic couple of weeks recently, in fact it’s not done yet. I think my next free weekend is the 1st July, which will be the first time I get to see my boyfriend since the 20th May. (Yes I know long distance sucks.) However I still think it’s really important to find time for myself. So I thought I’d show you how I spend my me time, depending on how much time I have.

Three minutes 

Make a date, £0

If all else fails and this is the only time I’m getting to myself, I use it to plan a me day. This can range from going to see a film, or a quick Lush shop or even lounging around catching up on telly. But it’s a day when I don’t have to think about anything else. If I know I’m going to be super busy I may restrict this to an afternoon but I try and fit one a month in.  It helps me cope to know I have time to myself scheduled. Sometimes I’ll merge this time with a weekend for my boyfriend but usually I just like to hog a day for myself. 

Five minutes  

Breathe App £0 (offers in app purchases) 
I use this simple meditation app everyday, it helps me focus and reasses life when I’m swamped. I like to take four minutes before getting up to just concentrate on the day ahead. It comes with set of stickers that are unlocked by certain tasks. It also lets you keep track of your emotions, and encourages you to build streaks. The meditations aren’t too out there so it just helps me take stock. There’s twenty six in total, including paid for packs, so there’s plenty of choice. Plus there’s just released a free pack too. 


Tidy up that one space, free.

I don’t know about you but I hate letting clutter build up. So whenever I have an odd five minutes I like to tidy up one little space, that way it saves a massive tidy up later on. Call me strange but I find it really calming to have perfectly organised area. Plus it helps give the illusion that I know what I’m doing. It doesn’t have to be big but it still gives me the feeling of being productive fast.

Ten minutes 

Seven App £2.49

Yes I know everyone has heard of the seven minutes workout but this is honestly the best use of ten minutes. Secondly I know I said ten minutes but if you’re anything like me you’ll need the extra three to return to a normal colour before bumping into anyone else. Again there in app purchases that lead to more choice but I’ve mainly stuck to the four. I find it really helps to perk me up, especially in the afternoon if I don’t have time to stop. There’s a variety of voices but I think most of them creepy; I also find the little workout demostraring cartoon a little unnerving. However it helps me get some fitness into packed days. 

Fifteen minutes 

Read something, £0/ the cost of a book

I mean literally anything just set a timer and read. I tend to read something on my Kindle or on the app simply because my bookcases are overflowing with books I can’t bare to throw away, but I’ve read so many times. Although I’ll equally use the time to catch up on the news then use the time to read up about a topic that I don’t know much about. I’m showing my stranger side but at the moment I’m currently looking at both sides of the EU referendum. Although if my brain is frazzled I’ll nearly always chose a good book. I’m sure you know you can get a load of free books as long as there out of publishing rights,  Project Gutenberg is a great place to start. How can I forgetting looking at a couple blog posts. Although I definitely need to set a timer for that otherwise I lose a couple of hours.

Twenty minutes


Colouring in, £varies

Yet again I know I’m way behind with this trend but I love it. I was hugely sceptical until last month and now it’s my go to.  The book I’m using at the moment was £2 from The Range and came with a floral pad and an animal pad plus some pencil crayons. However I prefer Staedtler triplus pens, a pack of ten costs £7 in ASDA. So it doesn’t have to be expensive at all. 

Thirty minutes 

Podcast, £0

I am a podcast fiend. I listen to them as I fall asleep, while I’m driving or in the bath. In fact if I can’t find anything good on telly I’ll often go to my room and listen away. My current favourite is No Such Thing As A Fish, which is made by the Qi Elves. It’s a collection of quirky facts told by true geeks. However I also like Stuff Mum Never Told You, which is feminist based look at the world around us. Pappy’s Flatshare Slamdown is an unsusal panel show. A couple of good narrative podcasts are Lore, Myths and Legends. The darkest in my collection is probably My Favourite Murder but I have to listen to that during the day. Basically I listen to a massive spread and am always willing yo recommend and take recommendations. Podcasts obviously vary in lengths but if you’re needed to stick to thirty minutes there are timers. 

Forty minutes


Walk, £0

I cannot stress how much this helps with stress sometimes. Obviously you could go for a run instead but I like a good brisk walk. The amount of times I got frustrated or couldn’t sleep and Uni, this always helped me reset. It’s great just popping my headphones in and either following a walking meditation or listening to a podcast. Just a change of scene helps. If I know I’m going to have a stressful day I might even factor in a drive a different but of countryside. Equally I’m lucky to have four public footpaths within five minutes of my front door. Although walking through a housing estate can at a push do the trick for me too. 

I hope I’ve given you some ideas to help make time for you. Or at least how to fill those odd pockets of time without constantly refreshing Twitter. All of these suggestions work without data so it should help in those dreaded black spots too! Let me know what you do to unwind in the comments.

Debbie

Xxx

Leave a Reply

