DIY: Chair cover

Hello you lovely lot! This week I thought I’d share with you another of my makeovers. As you know I’m slowly redecorating my bedroom. I’m having all shades of blue with white and gold elements. 


I thought I’d step it up and decided to take on the challenge of creating a new cover for my chair. It’s just boring black chair from Argos, I bought three years ago. It was finally time to make it pretty. 


First I used a screwdriver to remove the chair leg and the base. Then it was simple to remove the seat from the back.


Next I traced round the seat and back to make a pattern. This was simple but I did have to get my mum to double check. 


The next step is kinda obvious, you use the pattern to cut out the fabric pieces out. It’s kinda a crazy shape but that was so I could create a smooth seat. 


Right because I’m an idiot and got super into my task, I forgot to take any photos. Feel free to mock me in the comments. I promise it was super simple though! I did remember to take a picture of the finished piece. I’ve seen a thousand tutorials where they have stapled the fabric to the seat base. This seems super lazy and if you’re like me a terrible idea if you’re likely to spill on it. Instead I made an fabric envelope and slid this on to the seat. So I can remove it and wash it. Making the back cover was even easier as it’s basically a tube that you slide over. Again I’ve left this open at the bottom so I can remove it to wash it. 


Here’s a little before and after. You want to make sure it’s a tight fit not so tight you can’t remove it though. I realise that the fabric I used looks similar to the hideous fabric people try to hide. However this is so soft and looks nicer in person.

 Cost wise the fabric cost £30 but I’m using it for several projects. Definitely cheaper than the £200 blue chair I found online! It’s was a fun way to pass a couple of hours on a rainy day. I hope you’ve managed to follow this little guide, however feel free to ask me anything in the comments!

Debbie

Xxx

Leave a Reply

